Biblical Inspiration

A Heart for the World

The World NOAA The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Click Image

 

A Heart for the World

  

 The Bible God’s Word

“The Whole Armor Of God”

Ephesians 6:11 ESV

 

A Heart for the World

Matthew 28:18–20; Romans 9:1–3; 1 Corinthians 9:19–27

Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer

Sunday, August 15, 2010

Bulletin – Pastor to People – Sermon Notes

 

next …

LIVE BROADCAST

9:50 am CDT

10:50 am EST

Sunday

August 15, 2010

from

The Moody Church in Chicago

A Heart for the World

 

 Bulletin – Sunday, August 15, 2010

 

Welcome Pastor Tim Stafford

VBS Report

Invocation Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer

“To God Be the Glory” Hymnal 56

“Shout to the North” (Martin Smith)

Scripture Reading Ephesians 6:10–19 (ESV) Melinda Herron

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might.

Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil.

For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places.

Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm.

Stand therefore, having fastened on the belt of truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and, as shoes for your feet, having put on the readiness given by the gospel of peace.

In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one; and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God, praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication.

To that end keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints, and also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel…

“O Church, Arise” (Keith Getty & Stuart Townend)

“May the Mind of Christ, My Savior” Hymnal 568

Pastoral Prayer Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer

Offertory

“Doxology – A Word of Praise” Hymnal 815  Praise God from Whom all blessings flow; praise Him, all creatures here below.  Praise Him, above – ye heavenly host. Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. Amen.  

“Hosanna – Praise Is Rising”

“God of This City” 

 

A Heart for the World  

Matthew 28:18–20; Romans 9:1–3; 1 Corinthians 9:19–27

Matthew 9:35-38 ESVMatthew 9:18,27,32 ESV

Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer 

 

“God of This City”  

Benediction Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer

 

This Evening at 5:00pm, Room 107–108 

Sunday Evening Gathering 

TOGETHER – Celebrating Biblical Community  

Mary Whelchel   

 


  

Pastor to People 

 After being absent for a number of Sundays, I gladly return to the pulpit of The Moody Church today and look forward to a very busy Fall schedule. Thanks for joining us on this journey to see people’s lives changed through our many ministries. 

      This morning I speak to you about the larger vision of The Moody Church to reach as many as possible with the Good News of the Gospel. We will have an opportunity for a corporate “wider reach” during the Greg Laurie Chicago Harvest, September 24–26. We are joining with hundreds of other churches to say to the Chicago area: Jesus is Lord and Savior! We pray that hundreds will come to saving faith during this upcoming event. 

       Pray that God will give all of us “A Heart for the World!” 

Have a great week 

Pastor Lutzer 


 

Sermon Notes – Sunday, August 15, 2010 

 

A HEART FOR THE WORLD

Matthew 28:18–20; Romans 9:1–3; 1 Corinthians 9:19–27

Matthew 9:35-38 ESVMatthew 9:18,27,32 ESV

Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer

 

A HEART FOR THE WORLD

We, as individuals and as a church, want to have a heart for the world.

  

Matthew 28:18-20 ESV
The Great Commission

18And Jesus came and said to them, (V) “All authority(W) in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19(X) Go therefore and(Y) make disciples of(Z) all nations,(AA) baptizing them(AB) in[b] the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20teaching them(AC) to observe all that(AD) I have commanded you. And behold,(AE) I am with you always, to(AF) the end of the age.” 

 

Romans 9:1-3 ESV 
God’s Sovereign Choice 

 1(A) I am speaking the truth in Christ—I am not lying; my conscience bears me witness in the Holy Spirit— 2that I have great sorrow and unceasing anguish in my heart. 3For(B) I could wish that I myself were(C) accursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my brothers,[a] my kinsmen(D) according to the flesh.

 

1 Corinthians 9:19-27 ESV  
Paul Surrenders His Rights  
 19For(Y) though I am free from all,(Z) I have made myself a servant to all, that I might(AA) win more of them. 20(AB) To the Jews I became as a Jew, in order to win Jews. To those under the law I became as one under the law (though not being myself under the law) that I might win those under the law. 21To(AC) those outside the law I became(AD) as one outside the law (not being outside the law of God but(AE) under the law of Christ) that I might win those outside the law. 22(AF) To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak.(AG) I have become all things to all people, that(AH) by all means I might save some. 23I do it all for the sake of the gospel,(AI) that I may share with them in its blessings. 24Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives(AJ) the prize? So(AK) run that you may obtain it. 25Every(AL) athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we(AM) an imperishable. 26So I do not run aimlessly; I(AN) do not box as one(AO) beating the air. 27But I discipline my body and(AP) keep it under control,[b] lest after preaching to others(AQ) I myself should be(AR) disqualified.

 

Matthew 9:35-38 ESV;
The Harvest Is Plentiful, the Laborers Few

 35(AT) And Jesus went throughout all the cities and villages, teaching in their synagogues and proclaiming the gospel of the kingdom and healing every disease and every affliction. 36(AU) When he saw the crowds,(AV) he had compassion for them, because they were harassed and helpless,(AW) like sheep without a shepherd. 37(AX) Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few; 38therefore(AY) pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to(AZ) send out laborers into his harvest.”

 

Matthew 9:18,27,32 ESV
A Girl Restored to Life and a Woman Healed

 18(Z) While he was saying these things to them, behold, a ruler came in and(AA) knelt before him, saying, “My daughter has just died, but come and lay your hand on her, and she will live.”

 

Jesus Heals Two Blind Men

 27(AK) And as Jesus passed on from there, two blind men followed him, crying aloud, “Have mercy on us,(AL) Son of David.”

 

Jesus Heals a Man Unable to Speak

 32As they were going away, behold, a(AQ) demon-oppressed man who was mute(AR) was brought to him. 

Our concern should extend to:

 

 1.   The people beyond us

 

 2.   The people next to us 

 

 3.   The people among us

 

The bottom line: 

1.  

 

2. 

 

3. 

 


 

This entry was posted on August 13, 2010. It was filed under The Great Commission., “The Whole Armor Of God” and was tagged with , , , , , , . Edit this entry.

 

Comments: Closed 

 


THIS SITE {The Inspirational} IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR:

Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)”


 

 

Comments are closed.