Biblical Inspiration

Real Christianity

 

Father, into your hands I commit my spirit!

 

The Death of Jesus

Then Jesus, calling out with a loud voice, said, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit!” And having said this he breathed his last.

Luke 23:46 ESV

 

 

Real Christianity

Luke 23:32–46

Dr. John Dickson

 

Sunday, June 13, 2010

Bulletin – Pastor to People – Sermon Notes

 

next …

LIVE BROADCAST

9:50 am CDT

10:50 am EST

Sunday

June 13, 2010

from

The Moody Church in Chicago

Real Christianity

 

Bulletin – Sunday, June 13, 2010

 

Prelude Dr. Paul Satre, organist

Old Hundredth and Blessed Jesus, at Thy Word (arr. Piet Post)

 

Welcome Mary Whelchel

Invocation Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer

“Sing Praise to God Who Reigns Above” Hymnal 97

 

Scripture Reading Psalm 77:1–15 (ESV) Dr. Hutz Hertzberg

I cry aloud to God, aloud to God, and he will hear me.

In the day of my trouble I seek the Lord;

in the night my hand is stretched out without wearying;

my soul refuses to be comforted.

When I remember God, I moan;

When I meditate, my spirit faints.

You hold my eyelids open; I am so troubled that I cannot speak.

I consider the days of old, the years long ago.

I said, “Let me remember my song in the night; let me meditate in my heart.”

Then my spirit made a diligent search:

“Will the Lord spurn forever, and never again be favorable?

Has his steadfast love forever ceased? Are his promises at an end for all time?

Has God forgotten to be gracious? Has he in anger shut up his compassion?”

Then I said, “I will appeal to this, to the years of the right hand of the Most High.”

I will remember the deeds of the Lord;

Yes, I will remember your wonders of old.

I will ponder all your work, and meditate on your mighty deeds.

Your way, O God, is holy. What god is great like our God?

You are the God who works wonders;

you have made known your might among the peoples.

You with your arm redeemed your people, the children of Jacob and Joseph.

 

“Children of the Heavenly Father” Hymnal 719

“Before the Throne of God Above”

 

Anthems Sanctuary Choir and Orchestra

 

“He, Watching Over Israel” from Elijah (Felix Mendelssohn)

He, watching over Israel, slumbers not, nor sleeps.

Shouldst thou, walking in grief, languish, He will quicken thee.

(Text from Psalm 121:4 and 1 Kings 19:8)

 

“My Song in the Night”

O Jesus, my Savior, my song in the night,

Come to us with Thy tender love, my soul’s delight.

Unto Thee, O Lord, in affliction I call – my comfort by day and my song in the night.

O why should I wander, an alien from Thee? Or cry in the desert, Thy face to see?

My comfort and joy, my soul’s delight – O Jesus, my Savior, my song in the night.

(Southern Folk Hymn, arr. Paul Christiansen)

 

“Jesus, Draw Me Ever Nearer” (Getty)

 

Pastoral Prayer Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer

Offertory “Blessed Be the Name” (arr. John Innes)

 

“Doxology – A Word of Praise” Hymnal 815

Praise God from Whom all blessings flow; praise Him, all creatures here below.

Praise Him, above – ye heavenly host. Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. Amen.

 

Real Christianity

Luke 23:32–46

Dr. John Dickson

 

Song of Response

Benediction Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer

Postlude in G Minor (Francis Linley)

 

After the Morning Service, 11:30 AM

 

Special Seminar

PROMOTING THE GOSPEL

Dr. John Dickson

 

This Evening at 5:00pm, Room 107–108

Sunday Evening Gathering

 

The Greatest Story Ever Told

THE GOD WHO JUDGES

Genesis 3:1–15

Rev. Steve Mason

 


 

Pastor to People

         Today we welcome Dr. John Dickson to The Moody Church. Dr. Dickson is a world-class biblical apologist, and we are honored to have him speak twice today, in our morning worship service, and again, immediately after the conclusion of our service. Please stay for the second hour if your schedule allows.

         We also welcome Pastor Lutzer back today! Pastor and Rebecca have just returned from leading a tour group of the Reformation sites.

         On a more personal note, yesterday I had the wonderful privilege of officiating at the wedding of Michael Best (our Pastor for Student Discipleship) and Kristin Gruber. Extend your congratulations to them as you have opportunity.

With thanksgiving for you,

Hutz H. Hertzberg

Executive Pastor

 


 

 

Sermon Notes – Sunday, June 13, 2010

 

REAL CHRISTIANITY

Luke 23:32–46

Dr. John Dickson

 

Luke 23:32-46 ESV

The Crucifixion

 

32(AN) Two others, who were criminals, were led away to be put to death with him. 33(AO) And when they came to the place that is called The Skull, there they crucified him, and the criminals,(AP) one on his right and one on his left. 34And Jesus said, “Father,(AQ) forgive them,(AR) for they know not what they do.”[b] And they cast lots(AS) to divide his garments. 35And(AT) the people stood by, watching,(AU) but(AV) the rulers(AW) scoffed at him, saying,(AX) “He saved others;(AY) let him save himself,(AZ) if he is(BA) the Christ of God,(BB) his Chosen One!” 36The soldiers also mocked him, coming up and(BC) offering him sour wine 37and saying,(BD) “If you are(BE) the King of the Jews, save yourself!” 38(BF) There was also an inscription over him,[c] “This is(BG) the King of the Jews.”

39(BH) One of the criminals who were hanged(BI) railed at him,[d] saying, “Are you not(BJ) the Christ? Save yourself and us!” 40But the other rebuked him, saying, “Do you not fear God, since you are under the same sentence of condemnation? 41And we indeed justly, for we are receiving the due reward of our deeds; but this man has done nothing wrong.” 42And he said, “Jesus, remember me(BK) when you come into your kingdom.” 43And he said to him, “Truly, I say to you, today you will be with me in(BL) Paradise.”

The Death of Jesus

44(BM) It was now about the sixth hour,[e] and there was darkness over the whole land until the ninth hour,[f] 45while the sun’s light failed. And(BN) the curtain of the temple was torn in two. 46Then Jesus,(BO) calling out with a loud voice, said, “Father,(BP) into your hands I(BQ) commit my spirit!” And having said this(BR) he breathed his last.

 

 

 

Notes:

Comments are closed.