Biblical Inspiration

Archive for May 9, 2010

Unloved, But Greatly Blessed ~ Genesis 29

          

Mother’s Day

 

Unloved, But Greatly Blessed
Genesis 29
 Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer
 
Sunday, May 9, 2010
Bulletin – Pastor to People – Sermon Notes
 

next …

LIVE BROADCAST

9:50 am CDT

Sunday

May 9, 2010

from

The Moody Church in Chicago

 

Unloved, But Greatly Blessed

 

Bulletin – Sunday, May 9, 2010

Prelude Dr. Paul Satre, organ
Trumpet March (Jeremiah Clarke); Air (Jacques Chambonieres)
 
Call to Worship Handbell Ensemble
 “Jesus Shall Reign” (arr. Anna Laura Page)
 
Welcome Abby Naus
Baby Dedication Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer and Pastor Bob Gunter
Invocation Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer
“For the Beauty of the Earth” Hymnal 793
 
Scripture Reading Psalm 139:1–4; 13–16 (NIV) Mary Whelchel O LORD, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD. For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, Your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.
 
“Step by Step” (Beaker)
“Sovereign One” (Zach Jones)
 
Music Children’s Chorus, directed by Sarah Sanders
“A Blessing of Grace” (Mark Patterson)
 
A Tribute to a Mother
Pastoral Prayer Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer
 
Offertory Handbell Ensemble, directed by Amy Gatschenberger
“Beside Still Waters” (arr. Howard F. Starks)
 
“Doxology – A Word of Praise” Hymnal 815 Praise God from Whom all blessings flow; praise Him, all creatures here below. Praise Him, above – ye heavenly host. Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. Amen.
 
Music Revolution’s Cry Youth Choir
“Enough” (Chris Tomlin and Louie Giglio)
Music Revolution’s Cry Youth Choir
“When I Think About the Lord” (James Huey, arr. Bradley Knight)
 
 

Unloved, But Greatly Blessed

Genesis 29

 Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer  

 

 
 Song of Response 
 “Jesus I Am Resting, Resting”

The Inspirational Blog “Jesus I Am Resting, Resting” Sung by Buddy Green.
  
(Words: Jean S. Pig­ott, 1876. Music: Tran­quil­i­ty, James Mount­ain, 1876.)

 

Postlude – Ayre (Georg Philip Telemann)
 
This Evening at 5:00pm, Room 107–108
Sunday Evening Gathering
 

Honoring Mothers – In the Bible and the Qur’an

Pastor Raouf Boulos

 
 
 
Pastor to People  
     
    Congratulations to all the mothers who are present today! We honor you. As the cliché says, “The hand that rocks the cradle, rules the world.”
         May is the month in which we honor all those who are graduating from the various educational institutions. Transitions are exciting and difficult; exciting because the future is so unknown and difficult because the future is so uncertain. Be assured that God will lead you.
         Our financial needs are critical. Our elders have discussed what our deficit means going forward and we hope to share these thoughts with you in the near future. Meanwhile, thanks for your prayers and sacrifice.
 
Have a blessed week,
Pastor Lutzer
 
 
  

Sermon Notes – Sunday, May 9, 2010

       

UNLOVED, BUT GREATLY BLESSED

Genesis 29:15-20,22-25,27,31-33,35  NIV     
Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer  

 

 Revelation 5:5 NIV

The Scroll and the Lamb

Then one of the elders said to me, “Do not weep! See, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has triumphed. He is able to open the scroll and its seven seals.”  
 
Isaiah 53:2b NIV
 
Jesus unattractive    
 
He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to him,
nothing in his appearance that we should desire him.
 

Motherhood is always difficult, particularly if you are married to a difficult man. Leah shared her marriage relationship with her beautiful sister – a recipe for jealousy, anger and grace.

           

1. Leah is the unattractive woman

           

2. Leah is the unloved woman

           

3. Leah is also greatly blessed…

           

(1) In her relationship with God

           

(2) In the birth of her son, Judah

           

The bottom line:

           

1.          

2.        

 

   

